top of page

Land Grant Office




Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College (SCTC), as a Tribally Controlled College, is honored to be one of four land grant institutions serving the people of the State of Michigan. In 1862, the First Morrill Act was passed by congress and signed into law by President Abraham Lincoln, establishing “land-grant colleges” by providing federal lands to the states to be sold to support colleges of agriculture and mechanical arts. These original Land Grant Colleges are referred to as the “1862 institutions”, represented in Michigan by Michigan State University. Land grant system institutions were originally mandated to:

“…without excluding other scientific and classical studies, and including military tactics, to teach such branches of learning as are related to agriculture and the mechanic arts, in such manner as the legislatures of the states may respectively prescribe, in order to promote the liberal and practical education of the industrial classes in the several pursuits and professions in life.” Morrill Land Grant College Act

The Second Morrill Act of 1890, established land grant status and support for Historically Black Serving Institutions, commonly referred to as the “1890 institutions”. Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs), were granted land grant status and support in 1994 with passage of the Elementary and Secondary Education Reauthorization Act. Referred to as the “1994 institutions”, TCUs are expected to deliver education, research, and extension services to members of Federally Recognized Tribes and their neighbors. The Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College was established in 1998 four years after the passages of the 1994 Act creating the Tribal College Land Grant System.


A land-grant university (also called land-grant college or land-grant institution) is an institution of higher education in the United States designated by a state to receive the benefits of the Morrill Acts of 1862 and 1890 and the Secondary Education Reauthorization Act of 1994.


There are 37 federally recognized tribal colleges and universities (also known as “1994s”). For reservation communities, these 1994 land-grant institutions help improve the lives and career opportunities for Native students and the communities at large. 1994 institutions support research, education, and extension programs that enhance local agriculture and food production.


The primary federal partner and funding resource of the land grant system is the United States Department of Agriculture’s - National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA).

The USDA 1994 Tribal Land-Grant Colleges and Universities Program ensures that tribally controlled colleges and universities, the 1994 land-grant institutions, and the Native American communities served by these schools equitably participate in the workforce as employees and have access to programs, services, and resources for success.


For a more detailed history of the land grant system, refer to this link provided by the Association of Public and Land Grant Universities (APLU).


At present, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College land grant activities focus on education, extension, and research endeavors in the areas of:

1.    Sustainable Agriculture and Food Systems
2.    Health Promotion
3.    Recruiting and Retention; and
4.    Community Development.

bottom of page